Beginning Monday, March 24, Albany County Executive Dan McCoy will be holding a “Week of Champions” to honor local high school teams for sportsmanship, achievement and excellence.

In a statement, he said that the Capital District has long been known as producing some of the best high school talent in the state. The winter sports season proved to be a good one for county schools as Green Tech High school won the state Class AA basketball title and the Voorheesville boys’ basketball teams won the Section II Class B title.


Monday, March 24, 8:30 a.m.: Green Tech H.S. In just their fourth season of competition the Eagles won the NY State High School Athletic Association Class AA title with a thrilling win over Jamestown in the state tournament. Albany County Legislator Norma Chapman has a special connection and will be there.

Tuesday, March 25, 2:30 p.m.: Voorheesville H.S. Honoring the boys’ basketball team for winning the Section II title. The team had a great season and finished the year with a 21-2 record. The top-seeded Blackbirds won its first Sectional title since 2005 and at one point in the season the team reeled off a 19-game winning streak.

Wednesday, March 26, 3 p.m.: Bethlehem H.S. The Eagles had a number of Sectional title winners in various sports, including repeat honoree swimmer Gunnar Zemering. Also to be honored, swimmer Alex Taber and members of the girls’ and boy’s track field and bowling teams.

Thursday, March 27, 3 p.m.: Colonie H.S. He will honor the record-setting Colonie High School varsity cheerleading team, which won six First Place and five Grand Champion awards in the 2013-14 season. The team took top honors in the UAlbany Showdown, the Suburban Council Cheer Championships and the Scotia Spirit Invitational. The County Executive will also honor four Colonie wrestlers for winning Sectional titles.

Friday, March 28, 3 p.m.: Guilderland H.S. He will honor two Sectional wrestling champions: Junior Josh LoGuidice who won the school’s first Sectional title in four years in the 106 lb. weight class and senior Mike Lainhart who won the title in the 120 lb. weight class.